Area School Districts Unite to Address Pension Reform Concerns

Six area school districts – Daviess County Public Schools, Hancock County Public Schools, Ohio County Public Schools, McLean County Public Schools, Muhlenberg County Public Schools and Owensboro Public Schools – are hosting a shared press conference at 10 a.m. Friday, Oct. 6, at Sutton Elementary School, 2060 Lewis Lane, Owensboro.


District superintendents will address members of the media, responding to proposed changes to the state pension fund that are expected to be released by Gov. Matt Bevin’s administration this week in advance of a special legislative session in November.


The press conference will be attended by Superintendents Matt Robbins (Daviess), Kyle Estes (Hancock), Scott Lewis (Ohio), Terry Hayes (McLean), Robert Davis (Muhlenberg) and Dr. Nick Brake (Owensboro).


The presentation is designed to provide facts and resources journalists may use to communicate important information that is of interest to every resident of our communities and state.


There are many stakeholders who are directly affected by pension reform, including teachers and other employees of public school districts, as well as employees of police and law enforcement agencies; firefighters; city, county and state government employees; and many others.


However, pension reform also has the potential to affect EVERY RESIDENT OF KENTUCKY – in the form of higher taxes and reduces services.  These facts will be shared with reporters at this press conference, as well as information about what people can do to voice concerns with elected officials with a goal of addressing pension funding concerns while also minimizing potentially catastrophic consequences for all of us – most importantly, our children.



Back to School News      Print News Article